PDA

View Full Version : Review My first chapter review: 408

badluckartist
July 11, 2008, 01:03 AM
As the title tells, this is my first chapter review. I've grown weary of keeping my opinions and most importantly, analysis's to myself.

So this is it, Badluckartist's first chapter review!!

Fukasaku's Proposal!

For this review, I use Sleepyfan's scanlation, the first one out.

http://www.onemanga.com/Naruto/408/12/

First thing's first, the art and script are not top notch. The content is, however. As my name implies, I am an artist, and this stuff is not up to Kishimoto's usual quality. The script is cut down too- too many forum-goers guessed this entire chapter, and that's unlike Kishi's style. Naruto going to Myouboku Mountain and Sasuke and Taka/Hebi becoming Akatsuki... The execution of the transition just didn't strike me as Kishi's usual genius.

The introduction of the Hachibii Jinchuuriki was superb, however. An octopus-like silhouette, and then the Tayuya-like foul-mouth was enough to get me amped. A stark contrast to Sasuke's now-quiet demeanor.

http://www.onemanga.com/Naruto/408/16/
http://www.onemanga.com/Naruto/408/17/

I'd have much rather prefered Yugito as the current Hachibii, and this new Jinchuuriki as the Nibii Jinchuuriki filler character (Kishi seems to be a tad sexist, if you ask me). It was obvious the #1 of Kumogakure would show up sooner or later, as Yugito explicitly said she was the second-strongest of Kumogakure, when Kakuzu and Hidan captured her. This alone makes me want to know more about Kumogakure as a village- all we know so far is that they tried to make a dirty deal for the Byakugan years ago, and that at least two Jinchuuriki live/lived there, as their two strongest shinobi. Ah, and they somehow have two of the most powerful Jinchuuriki, despite having no impact on the story, as well as the Chuunin exam arc. Interesting, I say...

Bottom line, this chapter accomplished as much as it could with the least amount of work: