PDA

View Full Version : Discussion The Fanworks Thread

Asarii
November 16, 2010, 10:38 PM
We all read manga of course, but I was wondering if any of us have found other means to enjoy a series. They can be anything: cosplaying, making AMVs, writing fanfiction etc. Anything goes! Tell us about your experience and what you do with the hobby. :)

If you want to link to your works, please do share! Remember not to claim something made by others as your own. That's not cool.[hr]
Fanfiction: I've written four and the most recent was written in 2007. I really want to get into the habit of writing again, but sadly I'm a slow writer and with my current schedule it'll take me forever to finish. I don't have the willpower nor confidence to write a multi-chapter story so all of them are one-shots.

I wrote for Death Note, Teen Titans and I have two Naruto fics. They're a bit embarrassing to read now, but at the time I felt proud of myself. :p

Making graphics: This avatar (among my previous ones) and the current signature is made myself. After a long wait I finally acquired Photoshop (version CS4). It's so much fun to play around with even though I'm not an elite maker by any means.

Fan soundtracks (FST): This is where my love of music and manga merge together! I've recently gotten into this hobby, and I have around two sets so far. Compiling songs is quite fun because it really gets you thinking about the characters/groups/parings.

R4n
November 17, 2010, 08:36 AM
Making FSTs can be fun. Whenever i listen to a song or music sometimes i think "ah, this song reminds me of xxx character or this scene". But i never make a proper one because i have no patience for it. Not to mention i feel kinda guilty sharing music to public. It is hypocritical because i download musics but i feel guilty sharing them.

The only fanworks i ever did is some very crappy doodles. I am aware that i am a crappy writer and i have little interest in creative writing, so i never write fics. xD