Not a member? Register now!
Announcements
Manga returns! Catch up with the details. Enjoy downloading, translating, and scanlating manga HERE legally!
Like us on Facebook, follow us on Twitter! Celebrate another year with MH and read our yearbook.
Manga News: Check out this week's new manga (8/25/14 - 8/31/14).
Forum News: Visit new sections for Nisekoi and Kingdom!
Translations: Gintama 507 (2)
New Reply
Page 4 of 11 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6 ... LastLast
Results 46 to 60 of 154

Thread: Troubleshooting and Tech Support

  1. #46
    Registered User 英雄メンバー / Eiyuu Menbaa / Hero Member OhDearMoshe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    England
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Age
    24
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    670
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: The Computer Troubleshooting Thread

    Funnily enough I now have a problem xD.

    The other day my computer seemed to stop displaying Red through the vga cable. Anyway Ive had a check to see what the problem is and its not my monitor and when we connect it to a DVI converter it displays normally but once the windows is finished loading there's just no signal coming through and my monitor just sits there looking blankly at it.

    Are there any specific settings I should be aware of when switching between DVI and VGA?


    Spoiler: Jehuty's words of wisdom show

  2. #47
    Registered User 有名人 / Yuumeijin / Celebrity Paper's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    As close as the restraining order allows
    Country
    Earth Kindom
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    3,717
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: The Computer Troubleshooting Thread

    all i know is that your supposed to connect DVI to DVI...maybe thats the problem... or it could be compatibility issues with your monitor/tv and your GPU?

  3. #48
    Registered User 英雄メンバー / Eiyuu Menbaa / Hero Member OhDearMoshe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    England
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Age
    24
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    670
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: The Computer Troubleshooting Thread

    I Just decided to switch to the onboard and had the same problem ish. Now after resitting the graphics card windows wont load. After removing the graphics card it still wont load. It boots up in safe mode but does it extremely slowly! Can't even run check disk because when the computer reboots it wont load windows before doing so.

    Me and my friend think it seems to be a hard drive error but cant be sure. Any ideas? Anyone? Help?


    Spoiler: Jehuty's words of wisdom show

  4. #49
    Registered User 有名人 / Yuumeijin / Celebrity Paper's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    As close as the restraining order allows
    Country
    Earth Kindom
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    3,717
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: The Computer Troubleshooting Thread

    well if a computer resets before running windows, doens't that mean that your BIOS is screwy?

  5. #50
    Registered User 英雄メンバー / Eiyuu Menbaa / Hero Member OhDearMoshe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    England
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Age
    24
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    670
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: The Computer Troubleshooting Thread

    It doesn't reset, windows just didn't load. Imagine if you will the loading bar for XP......and that's it...just loading....nothing at all. Sorted it now it was a read error anyways ^^ also onto my on-board graphics card so now I need a new graphics card =[. Wouldn't mind so much but it was a month old *grrr's*


    Spoiler: Jehuty's words of wisdom show

  6. #51
    Registered User 有名人 / Yuumeijin / Celebrity Paper's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    As close as the restraining order allows
    Country
    Earth Kindom
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    3,717
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: The Computer Troubleshooting Thread

    hmhmhm.... tried re-installing?

  7. #52
    Registered User 英雄メンバー / Eiyuu Menbaa / Hero Member OhDearMoshe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    England
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Age
    24
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    670
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: The Computer Troubleshooting Thread

    Quote Originally Posted by level4paperboy View Post
    hmhmhm.... tried re-installing?
    Nawww the graphics cards pretty much screwed as far as I can tell. I got the hard Drive reading again that's the main point! IT even works back to its old standards after a few reboots although I did have to re install service pack 2 and all my anti virus software =/


    Spoiler: Jehuty's words of wisdom show

  8. #53
    Registered User 有名人 / Yuumeijin / Celebrity Paper's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    As close as the restraining order allows
    Country
    Earth Kindom
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    3,717
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: The Computer Troubleshooting Thread

    well... thats a hardware problem right there....say hello to new stuff....

  9. #54
    Registered User 初心者/ Shoshinsha / Beginner
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Age
    33
    Gender
    Female
    Posts
    1
    Post Thanks / Like

    Card Is Unplugged Automatically

    Hello,
    My Inbuilt LAN Card Is Unplugged Automatically. If The PC Shut Down For 1 Or 2 Hours Then It Will Connect Automatically, I Don't Understand Y It Is Happening. Please Help Me On This.? I need your help so please reply my post ASAP.

    Thanks

  10. #55
    MH Senpai 伝説メンバー / Densetsu / Legendary Member bax's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Country
    Malaysia
    Age
    30
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    15,801
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Card Is Unplugged Automatically

    Hmm.... There a few things that could be wrong. I'm assuming you're using Windows here. I'll list the things that might lead to your problem..

    1) Remove the card from the slot and then try to reinsert it properly. Also check whether your router/modem is fine and not damaged (test the connection on another pc). You can try this on the card itself too, to determine whether if the card is damaged or not (using the card on another working pc).

    2) Did you update the OS before? Sometimes OS updates can screw up your drivers. Try updating your card driver (from the manufacturer's site).

    3) Go to your Network Places (Start > Control Panel > Network Places). Right click on the your LAN icon and then select repair.

    4) Check the cables connection. Make sure the cables are fitted properly.
    Last edited by bax; March 09, 2009 at 07:47 AM.


  11. #56
    Registered User 初心者/ Shoshinsha / Beginner
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Country
    India
    Age
    27
    Gender
    Female
    Posts
    0
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Card Is Unplugged Automatically

    Quote Originally Posted by Gracey View Post
    Hello,
    My Inbuilt LAN Card Is Unplugged Automatically. If The PC Shut Down For 1 Or 2 Hours Then It Will Connect Automatically, I Don't Understand Y It Is Happening. Please Help Me On This.? I need your help so please reply my post ASAP.

    Thanks
    Could be any of many things.. It could be a hardware failure, a driver failure, operating system issue, or other things. You can start with the easiest solution and work your way up. Start by reinstalling the driver, then try starting up in SafeMode, then reinstall OS, and if not then buy a new NIC.

  12. #57
    Registered User 上級員 / Jyoukuuin / Sr. Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Country
    United States
    Age
    31
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    323
    Post Thanks / Like

    I made a minipack for stubborn viruses/rootkits

    I do a lot of remote vnc and other tech support... this saves me alot of time on slower internet connections. The goal of this pack is so you can get rid of stubborn rootkits, then use malwarebytes, spybot and antivirus software to remove the rest.

    From my website: http://www.5secondnews.com

    Often new viruses/rootkits are blocking apps such as malwarebytes, spybot etc. This pack helps me get rid of those issues, then finish with a thorough av and malwarebytes scan, restoring their abilities to run again.

    Download "Roes minipack":
    http://www.5secondnews.com/uploads/3..._-_v4_lite.exe

    Quick tips:

    -hostsxpert can help prevent/stop browser hijacking and redirecting by spyware
    -dialafix can help fix not-responding issues, crashing, frozen IE and other errors in win2k and winxp
    -ccleaner can clean temp files and the registery, however check out TEMPER too
    -temper can clean the temp files of every user on the machine, ccleaner and ATF-cleaner cannot.
    -Sophos AntiRootkit can help remove hidden rootkits and trojans that malwarebytes, mcafee and other tools cannot detect.
    -winxp-quicktweak.reg (disables 3rd party apps in IE spyware, error reporting, dr watson - tweaks system and allows machine to be added to domain)
    can't scan with malwarebytes or other apps? Run hijack this first, use the analyze site and delete the virus in memory.
    -after this your utilities should/may work



    1. Dial-a-Fix
    -i checked ideal defaults. It's not necessary to fix time, windows updates or windows installer unless needed
    -if it is taking longer than 5 minutes that usually means IE is hosed and this needs to finish being scanned with dial-a-fix
    -if you recieve errors, most likely the user doesn't have admin rights or they have ie8 which is not supported
    -does not work in vista/windows 7.
    -fixes crashing, frozen webpages, white IE webpages and alot of "not responding" type issues

    How to guide: http://www.maximumpc.com/article/bro...ith_dial_a_fix


    2. HOSTSXPERT:
    Hostsxpert helps prevent browser redirection and blocks many virus websites from the user's pc. It can also lock and secure the hosts file.
    a. launch hostsxpert
    b. Hostsxpert > import options > replace hosts file (select file) (may need to click “Make Writeable?”) >select the hosts file in the minipack's folder
    c. Afterwards “Make Readonly” to stop hijacking / redirection by viruses.
    The “make read only” feature is a security feature on its own since it stops browser redirection/search redirection



    3. TEMPER: Multiuser Cleanup - use with caution
    -this amazing utility takes about 2 minutes to scan.
    -do not check/delete what you are not familiar with
    -ideal for multi-user machines, you can delete temp and temporary internet file folders!
    -does not work with vista
    -other applications such as ccleaner and atf cleaner only delete two user's accounts:
    current user and "all users account". many assume "all users" means all user folders on the machine, it does not. This is
    a special windows folder where "all users" on the machine can share desktop icons etc.
    -this is the only known utility that scans all temp files of the system



    4. ccleaner portable:
    -doesn't require install
    -ideal settings checked. it's nice for the user not to lose their browser history so keep this unchecked.
    -empty prefetch incase virus is stored in prefetch
    -registery settings have been unchecked to reduce scan times of non-security sections of the registery

    HOW TO USE CCLEANER:
    launch ccleaner.exe
    a. in "cleaner" click "run cleaner"
    b. registery (only if needed, don't use if not needed): "Scan for Issues" then "Fix selected issues"
    -if you make a backup save it somewhere safe so the user doesn't reinstall the backup

    Guide: http://www.ccleaner.com/help/tour/2-main-window


    5. Hi-Jack this: use with caution. (ASK FOR HELP)
    "Do a system scan and save a logfile"
    warning: IF YOU UNCHECK any important files you will destroy the machine
    -if you do not recognize it, it does not mean its a virus GOOGLE IT!

    a. scan with a log file
    b. copy/paste file into the IE shortcut > "Analyze Hijackthis Logs", paste in the white box > "analyze"
    only check in hijack this the red "x" sections found on the analyzation site.
    -THIS WILL SAVE YOU HEADACHES AND TIME.
    -this can kill other viruses that will then allow you to scan with malwarebytes.

    TIP: ie frozen or hosed on the machine?
    If in vnc you can copy the log file, and paste it in a browser on your machine to analyze:
    http://hijackthis.de/index.php?langselect=english
    -remeber only follow the RED-X suggestions
    - yellow question marks are usually landesk/mcafee/vcpi tools!

    TIP: can't use malwarebytes or other apps? Use hijackthis first!

    How to use: http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tuto...utorial42.html



    6. Malwarebytes use a full or quickscan and remove everything found. Make sure to update first.
    -malwarebytes not running? try hijackthis and then try malwarebytes again after following the "analyzation results".
    -still not working? try sophos anti-rootkit WITH CAUTION.

    How to guide: http://www.virusremovalguru.com/?p=29


    7. Sophos Anti-Rootkit has replaced Panda antirootkit.
    -takes about 5 minutes to find most rootkits
    -a 10-15 minute scan can find everything but isn't always needed (if after 5 minutes you see a list of 20 viruses you
    could stop it and begin researching)
    -not everything found is a virus. for instance it will detect ccleaner and hijack this as a rootkit
    -make sure that you google everything. usually there is a trend. you might see 20 files with "UAC" in it
    in this example, UAC features from Vista do not exist in Winxp which can be a red flag to delete these group of files.
    WHEN IN DOUBT GOOGLE IT. IF YOU DO NOT USE CAUTION YOU MAY DELETE OUR SECURITY SOFTWARE SUCH AS LANDESK.

    TIP: in a hurry? After launching sophos only check "running processes and windows registry", if it does not fix your issue then come back
    and scan the "local hard drives" option. I find that all 3 is the best, but i only wait about 5-10 minutes before stopping the scan since at this point
    most items will have been detected.
    -if still hosed, allow the scan to finish.


    8. winxp-quicktweak.reg
    -this is a tweak file to reduce system performance issues from error reporting and doctor watson
    -also helps disable 3rd party apps in IE to reduce toolbar/app infection in IE
    -includes the reg fix to add a machine to the domain
    -requires reboot to take affect
    -also reduces performance caused by some visual features in xp

    feel free to ask me for any research or questions
    -roe


    afterwards scan with malwarebytes (malwarebytes.org) and make sure you have good av software, basically anything not mcafee or norton lol. so try avg, antivir, or avast all free at filehippo.com

    if anyone is new to fixing/cleaning up.. i wrote a primitive never completed guide here:
    http://www.5secondnews.com/all-in-one-guide.html
    Last edited by jerger; September 17, 2009 at 04:10 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost

  13. #58
    MH Senpai MH中毒 / MH Chuudoku / MH Addicted Bugzee's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    ♥ Robin Land ♥
    Country
    United Kingdom
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    8,251
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: The Computer Troubleshooting Thread

    Most people use CCleaner just for the "cleaner" tool. You know remove all cookies, recent history, etc but the "Registry" cleaner is very important as well. Apparently, it "fixes" and "repairs" certain files that are missing. Dunno, how true/accurate the actual program is but I see a slight improvement on my computer after I use it. I think it's a must-have. ^^

  14. #59
    MangaHelper 伝説メンバー / Densetsu / Legendary Member riki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Country
    United States
    Gender
    Female
    Posts
    11,278
    Post Thanks / Like

    Computer Problem

    I'm having problem logging into my Toshiba laptop. Right now, it will just show me a black screen so I can't log in. I had this problem for awhile, but my system automatic repair was able to fix it... until today.

    Apparently I have a StartupRepairOffline. I think it started after my computer downloaded seven automatic updates because it was fine until then.

    Any help will be appreciated.

    I think with my heart and I move with my head | My Stories Archive - Short Story: "Life According to an Onion" UP!

  15. Like 1 Member(s) likes this post
  16. #60
    Registered User MH中毒 / MH Chuudoku / MH Addicted Hardy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Outer Heaven
    Country
    Argentina
    Age
    20
    Gender
    Male
    Posts
    6,616
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: Computer Problem

    I used to have some problems like that.
    Apparently, it was the cd reader, I just opened it and my notebook started normally

    Dunno if that helps ya though, but you can still try it I guess...

  17. Thanks 1 Member(s) thanked this post
New Reply
Page 4 of 11 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 6 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts