For Fans of Discworld

Status
Not open for further replies.

OhDearMoshe

Registered User
英雄メンバー / Eiyuu Menbaa / Hero Member
Joined
May 31, 2007
Messages
679
Reaction score
21
Age
30
Gender
Male
Country
United Kingdom
Those of you in England may remember last Christmas when they did a lvie adaptation of the Hogfather for sky one. (If your a fan and haven't seen it type in Hogfather into youtube and find it there most of the thing is up.

Well they are doing another one for colour of magic and the light fantastic.

Anyways. Any other Disworld fans hanging around here?
 
Last edited:

the_hellbringer

Registered User
上級員 / Jyoukuuin / Sr. Member
Joined
Oct 26, 2006
Messages
389
Reaction score
10
Age
36
Gender
Male
Country
Peru
What is Discworld?
 

OhDearMoshe

Registered User
英雄メンバー / Eiyuu Menbaa / Hero Member
Joined
May 31, 2007
Messages
679
Reaction score
21
Age
30
Gender
Male
Country
United Kingdom
Its a book series by a man named Terry Pratchett, they are incredibly funny and parody a lot of real life things and places. They are extremely good, worth a read!
 

Dhomochevsky

Registered User
初心者/ Shoshinsha / Beginner
Joined
Sep 11, 2007
Messages
46
Reaction score
3
Gender
Male
Country
United States
This is probably one of my favorite satire series. I used to read the Xanth novels by Piers Anothony but once I discovered Discworld, I haven't gone back to Xanth. I'm so glad that Harper re-released the series (in America at least) so I can complete my collection.
 

OhDearMoshe

Registered User
英雄メンバー / Eiyuu Menbaa / Hero Member
Joined
May 31, 2007
Messages
679
Reaction score
21
Age
30
Gender
Male
Country
United Kingdom
This is probably one of my favorite satire series. I used to read the Xanth novels by Piers Anothony but once I discovered Discworld, I haven't gone back to Xanth. I'm so glad that Harper re-released the series (in America at least) so I can complete my collection.
finally another fan out there. You have any favourite characters or moments then? Any book your particularly enjoy. I mean come on, there must be mroe Discworld fans out there!
 

richvh

Translator
中級員 / Chuukyuuin / Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
198
Reaction score
163
Gender
Male
Country
United States
Guards! Guards! - Having studied Latin, I find the disconnect between the motto of the Guard, and its translation, hilarious.
Small Gods - re-read it several times.
I always enjoy the scenes of Death escorting people to the next life (or whatever he does.)
 

OhDearMoshe

Registered User
英雄メンバー / Eiyuu Menbaa / Hero Member
Joined
May 31, 2007
Messages
679
Reaction score
21
Age
30
Gender
Male
Country
United Kingdom
Hmnnnn I was always a fan of more character arcs than specific books, like I always enjoyed the city guard and my favourite of all. Rincewind. =]

Now hes just so funny!
 

Pollux

Registered User
上級員 / Jyoukuuin / Sr. Member
Joined
Jan 29, 2007
Messages
252
Reaction score
11
Age
36
Gender
Male
Country
France
Although I stopped reading Discworld some time ago, Pratchett is still one of my favorite authors and I'm thinking about resuming my collection.
I discovered Discworld thanks to the video games then I discovered Pratchett's works thanks to the The Bromeliad Trilogy (books from Discworld had not been released at that time).
My favorite book is without a doubt Mort. I own some others but I don't remember which ones (and the differences between the original and the French titles don't help).
As for the characters, my favorite are Death, the Librarian and Ricewind.
 

Dhomochevsky

Registered User
初心者/ Shoshinsha / Beginner
Joined
Sep 11, 2007
Messages
46
Reaction score
3
Gender
Male
Country
United States
The Luggage is my favorite character. What more could you ask for in a walking chest? Of course, how can you not like Rincewind or at least feel sorry for him?

The Last Continent is one of my favorite Luggage/Rincewind books.

Thud! was also funny. I never expected a smart troll king. "Mr. Shine him diamond"
 

OhDearMoshe

Registered User
英雄メンバー / Eiyuu Menbaa / Hero Member
Joined
May 31, 2007
Messages
679
Reaction score
21
Age
30
Gender
Male
Country
United Kingdom
Hmnn yeah the Diamond King was quite amazing, we never see the bitg trolls anymore like in Light Fantastic either. That was a cool diea that got a little scrapped.

As for Rincewind Im sure I'm not the only one who loved his fight with the sorcerer =p That was FANTASTIC!
 

Dhomochevsky

Registered User
初心者/ Shoshinsha / Beginner
Joined
Sep 11, 2007
Messages
46
Reaction score
3
Gender
Male
Country
United States
That was quite the battle, Rincewind and Coin. The sorcerer was what, something like the 8th son of the 8th of the son of the 8th son who all were wizards. It's been a while since I read "Sourcery".

I think my favorite Rincewind moment is when he meets up with Cohen. I'm glad that my grandpa is only good at cards :tem
 

OhDearMoshe

Registered User
英雄メンバー / Eiyuu Menbaa / Hero Member
Joined
May 31, 2007
Messages
679
Reaction score
21
Age
30
Gender
Male
Country
United Kingdom
That was quite the battle, Rincewind and Coin. The sorcerer was what, something like the 8th son of the 8th of the son of the 8th son who all were wizards. It's been a while since I read "Sourcery".

I think my favorite Rincewind moment is when he meets up with Cohen. I'm glad that my grandpa is only good at cards :tem
Hahah yeah Cohen would be one scary Grandfather.

Also yeah, 8th Son of the 8th son of the 8th Son. Because the 8Th son of the 8Th son is a Wizard. And then the Wizard out of spite had another 8 sons!
 

Gold Knight

MH Senpai
伝説メンバー / Densetsu / Legendary Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2005
Messages
19,235
Reaction score
1,272
Gender
Hidden
Country
Abu Dhabi
This is probably one of my favorite satire series. I used to read the Xanth novels by Piers Anothony but once I discovered Discworld, I haven't gone back to Xanth. I'm so glad that Harper re-released the series (in America at least) so I can complete my collection.
Aww, you stopped reading Xanth. Although I can understand that, it did get kind of old after a while. Too many puns.

I guess I need to try this Discworld series again I have the first book, and struggled to get into it but people are on me about reading it all the time. Says it gets better after the first book, right.
 

Dhomochevsky

Registered User
初心者/ Shoshinsha / Beginner
Joined
Sep 11, 2007
Messages
46
Reaction score
3
Gender
Male
Country
United States
Xanth was entertaining at first but the puns just started becoming too much.

I like Discworld better because it is more satire than puns. Pratchett does a good job of satirizing both the real world as well as stereotypical fantasy.

I didn't actually start out reading the first book "The Color of Magic". "Hogfather" was the first one I read (which was hilarious). While I did like the first book, it seemed like more of an introduction to Discworld so the series does get better.
 

Gold Knight

MH Senpai
伝説メンバー / Densetsu / Legendary Member
Joined
Nov 16, 2005
Messages
19,235
Reaction score
1,272
Gender
Hidden
Country
Abu Dhabi
I've had plenty of e-mail exchanges with Piers Anthony (who is incredible as far as staying in touch with his readers) so I guess that's probably why I have a fondness for the Xanth universe, even now. I haven't stopped reading it, but I agree that it's seen better days.

Anyway, back to Discworld, thanks. I think I'll probably get the second book then.
 

OhDearMoshe

Registered User
英雄メンバー / Eiyuu Menbaa / Hero Member
Joined
May 31, 2007
Messages
679
Reaction score
21
Age
30
Gender
Male
Country
United Kingdom
Second Book is a continuation of the first. And most aren't required order reading anyway (although it does help). However second book is a good place to work with!
 

Dhomochevsky

Registered User
初心者/ Shoshinsha / Beginner
Joined
Sep 11, 2007
Messages
46
Reaction score
3
Gender
Male
Country
United States
I've had plenty of e-mail exchanges with Piers Anthony (who is incredible as far as staying in touch with his readers) so I guess that's probably why I have a fondness for the Xanth universe, even now. I haven't stopped reading it, but I agree that it's seen better days.
My friend used to write letters to him back in the day. He even had one of his puns published. I'll have to ask him which one but it looks like there should be a Xanth thread.

And most aren't required order reading anyway (although it does help).
I've been trying to read them in order but have been skipping a book or two because I can't find it. I want to get the whole series but only have about 2/3. Have you read all the books?
 

OhDearMoshe

Registered User
英雄メンバー / Eiyuu Menbaa / Hero Member
Joined
May 31, 2007
Messages
679
Reaction score
21
Age
30
Gender
Male
Country
United Kingdom
I've been trying to read them in order but have been skipping a book or two because I can't find it. I want to get the whole series but only have about 2/3. Have you read all the books?
Ive read and own all of them apart from: The children's Discworld novels and Making Money (The new one)
 

Rahan

Registered User
英雄メンバー / Eiyuu Menbaa / Hero Member
Joined
Mar 28, 2007
Messages
924
Reaction score
380
Gender
Hidden
Country
France
I have read all the french paperback books (up to Jingo). I think the paperbacks are up to Monstrous Regiments, but they are too expensive for me (and for my neighborhood's library who also buys the paperback lol).

The Truth is the only Discworld book I have tried in english. I have found it surprisingly easy to understand (way easier than the other fantasy books I have read in english) but I missed too many jokes and references. I am trying to avoid comedic stuff in english now.

My favorite is by far Small Gods and my favorite characters are Rincewind and Watch.
 

Twar

Registered User
下級員 / Kakyuuin / Jr. Member
Joined
Oct 8, 2007
Messages
62
Reaction score
20
Gender
Male
Country
Estonia
Yeah, Terry's the man, I've read every book in order up to Thief of Time and must say that through the years Discworld has become a place for me to dive into and just enjoy the ride.
Creating that kind of humourous place and entwining clever and quirky plots filled with satire is just what Pratchett means to me.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top