Miscellaneous Taking Screen Caps

Akasun

Registered User
下級員 / Kakyuuin / Jr. Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2005
Messages
92
Reaction score
0
Gender
Male
Country
Canada
Alright. I'm not sure If this is in the right thread, but it's worth a try.

We all know when you watch something on your computer, and you want to Screen Cap it, you press the Print Screen button and post it into a program, example is Paint. The pictures comes out good but then when you save it the picture(s) just becomes a black screen. :s

So.... my question is, how can you take screen caps when your picture turns black, do you need a certain program? Or you have to do something else?

Discuss away! :smile-big :darn
 

zerocharisma

Registered User
中級員 / Chuukyuuin / Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2005
Messages
146
Reaction score
1
Gender
Female
Country
United States
What are you capturing? Based on the info you gave, I'm guessing you're trying to capture a frame of a video. This is easily done using VirtualDub ( http://www.virtualdub.org/ ) which is a free utility. And the quality is much better.

If you're trying to capture something else, can you give more details?

z.
 

Akasun

Registered User
下級員 / Kakyuuin / Jr. Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2005
Messages
92
Reaction score
0
Gender
Male
Country
Canada
zerocharisma said:
What are you capturing? Based on the info you gave, I'm guessing you're trying to capture a frame of a video. This is easily done using VirtualDub ( http://www.virtualdub.org/ ) which is a free utility. And the quality is much better.

If you're trying to capture something else, can you give more details?

z.
Thanks. I'm trying to screencapture an eoisode. So that goes with frame of a video, right?[br]Postet at: December 14, 2005, 03:09:08 PM_________________________________________________Sorry about the doubleposting. But how exactly do you use it? @_@
 

metalanime

Registered User
中級員 / Chuukyuuin / Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2005
Messages
205
Reaction score
1
Gender
Male
Country
United States
try checking the help file if its there.
 

Akasun

Registered User
下級員 / Kakyuuin / Jr. Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2005
Messages
92
Reaction score
0
Gender
Male
Country
Canada
metalanime said:
try checking the help file if its there.
Nope, there is no help file! :([br]Postet at: December 14, 2005, 03:45:17 PM_________________________________________________Welll.... is there an easier program to use? :nod
 

metalanime

Registered User
中級員 / Chuukyuuin / Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2005
Messages
205
Reaction score
1
Gender
Male
Country
United States
i use zoom player. i dont take captions much, but this program lets you by pressing alt and f, but not on all file types.
 

Akasun

Registered User
下級員 / Kakyuuin / Jr. Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2005
Messages
92
Reaction score
0
Gender
Male
Country
Canada
Does it let you play .wmv types? Since I just noticed that VirtualDub does like all files excpet .wmv.... :(
 

iijyanaika

Registered User
初心者/ Shoshinsha / Beginner
Joined
Dec 5, 2005
Messages
7
Reaction score
3
Gender
Male
Country
South Korea
where can i get zoom player, a friend gave me the link awhile ago, but i got a new computer cause my old one rather died, so i don't want to dl some random junk that says zoom player >.>
 

Akasun

Registered User
下級員 / Kakyuuin / Jr. Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2005
Messages
92
Reaction score
0
Gender
Male
Country
Canada
Does Zoom Player let you cap .wmv files? :o
 

holmes221

Registered User
英雄メンバー / Eiyuu Menbaa / Hero Member
Joined
Nov 24, 2005
Messages
619
Reaction score
75
Gender
Male
Country
Indonesia
mm google for Media Player Classic. It has function "SAVE IMAGE AS" to do what you need.

Support wmv and most video file format ( if codec is included )Mission.Impossible.
 

chauron

Registered User
初心者/ Shoshinsha / Beginner
Joined
Dec 13, 2005
Messages
36
Reaction score
0
Akasun said:
zerocharisma said:
What are you capturing? Based on the info you gave, I'm guessing you're trying to capture a frame of a video. This is easily done using VirtualDub ( http://www.virtualdub.org/ ) which is a free utility. And the quality is much better.

If you're trying to capture something else, can you give more details?

z.
Thanks. I'm trying to screencapture an eoisode. So that goes with frame of a video, right?
Just go to certain spot, press the "printscreen" button @ keyboard, paste to photoshop/irfanview/paint and done. Peace of cake...

---

BSPlayer .. shift+P and done. The image will go to the "c:\program files\bsplayer" -folder by default.

http://www.bsplayer.org/
 

metalanime

Registered User
中級員 / Chuukyuuin / Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2005
Messages
205
Reaction score
1
Gender
Male
Country
United States
here is zoom player
http://www.inmatrix.com/files/zoomplayer_download.shtml

on the left, there is a part that says decoders, all very small files with quick installation.

to make zoom player full screen, its the 4th button from left to right on the window

you can fast forward 5 sec using the < and > keys and 20 seconds while holding shift.

space bar brings up and puts away the time position while in full screen mode, which is handy. you can also wave the mouse over that area for it to pop up.

anything else, just press f1 for key commands.
 

Ichimaru Gin n Tonic

MH Senpai
MH中毒 / MH Chuudoku / MH Addicted
Joined
Jun 13, 2006
Messages
5,054
Reaction score
13
Gender
Male
Country
Indonesia
I usually use CyberLink Power DVD player to make screen caps. Plays most video format. You can set the picture size (max is 2000x2000 pixels). Output file is *.BMP. You can also set the output folder.
 
Top