1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Want to read legit manga from Mangahelpers?! Get in here!
  3. The new season of the Anime League is here! Tell us which new Anime of this season you liked the most so far!
  4. Submissions for Landmark Photography Contest has begun. Capture a picture of a landmark!

    Voting has begun for the Musical Cover Contest. Pick your favorite piece!

    Congratulations to Ustegius for winning the Illustrated Children Book Drawing contest!
  5. The MangaHelpers Manga Awards 2018 are over. Celebrate the winners now!
  6. Starting from mid-February or so we'll be going through the media gallery and sorting through the submissions there to ensure they match with our recent changes listed in the Media Gallery Guide.
    As such some media files will be removed, so please be sure to look through your media and ensure it is up to requirements If you have any questions, contact a global/admin.
Though artists in particular, everyone please do check out the [MEDIA GUIDE] , as there are information relevant for you all. Thanks!

Support Troubleshooting and Tech Support

Discussion in 'Information Technology' started by goldb, Feb 20, 2007.

  1. goldb

    goldb Grumpy Overlord

    伝説メンバー / Densetsu / Legendary Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    24,132
    Likes Received:
    19,904
    Gender:
    Male
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm trying to make a video avatar of Bleach episode 115 when Urahara fires an energy blast at Yami and Ulquiorra deflects it with his hand.

    I use an iMac G4 with Mac OS 10.4.8 and if anyone knows any applications that I can use and download for free, I would appreciate it if you could give me a link or so. I should be able to figure everything out quite easily, so I don't need help there.

    ===========

    All enquiries and and tech support needed should be posted here. Please bear in mind that members here may not be professionals so anything that requires such attention should be looked at externally or can be directed to by others here.

    Please remain civil at all times and avoid bashing and such behaviours, especially to someone who is offering you help; noone is under the obligation to do so. "Please" and "Thank you" are encouraged. Also check index thread for anything regarding linking and hosting that you are unaware of. goldb~
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2013
  2. TechnoMagus

    TechnoMagus Registered User

    英雄メンバー / Eiyuu Menbaa / Hero Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,970
    Likes Received:
    27
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Re: Video avatar making help

    since you want to do it yourself, you can use mplayer, open source for linux, windows and since osx is unix based, osx too. there is now an official avatar thread and i have posted there the command line arguments i used for gif avatars here...
    http://mangahelpers.com/forum/index.php?topic=15007.msg330049#msg330049

    my other bleach avatars here...
    http://mangahelpers.com/forum/index.php?topic=15007.msg330290#msg330290

    in then used open source gimp to edit the frames as layers which you can also do in osx or other mac native apps...
     
  3. mr_zhang

    mr_zhang Registered User

    下級員 / Kakyuuin / Jr. Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    17
    Country:
    Indonesia
    Help! Downloading problem??

    Hi guys,

    Love being a member of this forum.

    At first, I only want to download the newest scans :D

    However, recently I decided to help by providing mirror. I'm planning to provides mirror for Naruto, Bleach, and One Piece.

    Now, I have a bad internet connection where it often disconnects randomly. It brings so much pain when I'm trying to download from SS. (I can't download from RS/GS/YSI as I'm on a shared IP)

    If my internet connection disconnects, SendSpace will re-start the download from zero byte. It's a waste of bandwidth and time (as we know, we need mirror as soon as possible). I hope that it will have a "resume broken download" function.

    Do you guys know how to solve this problem? I'm using FireFox 2.0 and FlashGet.

    Regards,


    [nami] Merged [/nami]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 19, 2009
  4. Ichimaru Gin n Tonic

    Ichimaru Gin n Tonic MH Senpai

    MH中毒 / MH Chuudoku / MH Addicted

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    5,054
    Likes Received:
    13
    Country:
    Indonesia
    Re: Help! Downloading problem??

    Hi mr_zhang,

    You can try using the FlashGot plugin for Firefox and set the option to intercept all download. FlashGot Options --> Downloads tab --> check the Intercept all downloads.

    And instead of using FlashGet, use the standard download for Firefox. I have a slow connection myself and that trick works for me (most of the time). If it doesnt, you can always ask the kindness of other members to provide a link with resume download capability, such as Turboupload. :D
     
  5. neji1988

    neji1988 Registered User

    中級員 / Chuukyuuin / Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Country:
    Singapore
    The Computer Troubleshooting Thread

    Hey guys i don't know if this is the place to do this...or there is another place for this but i need some help...i know there is alot of ppl here that is good with computer stuff like software probs and all and i would like to ask for some assistance... ok heres my problem
    Everytime i restart my comp or Turn it on it will always have this message
    "The System DLL user32.dll was relocated in memory. The application will not run properly. the relocation occurred because the DLL C:\WINDOWS\System32\HHCTRL.OCX Occupied an address range reserved for Windows System DLLs. The vendor supplying the DLL should be contacted for a new DLL"
    And there are 2 things i wanna know..Is this a Bad thing? And if it is How do i fix it.....sry mods if i placed this in the wrong zone but i really need some help...thanx alot

     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 20, 2008
  6. TechnoMagus

    TechnoMagus Registered User

    英雄メンバー / Eiyuu Menbaa / Hero Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,970
    Likes Received:
    27
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Re: Computer Problems

    is this everytime you boot/run the program? are you using vista? what is the program? what did you do before--upgrade/update/install os/program?

    if i have your problem, i'd just rollback/restore point (undo what i did before this issue came up) and boot into safe mode, else repair or reinstall windows.

    from what i know, user32.dll is a CRITICAL os system file, HHCTRL.OCX on the other hand is not as critical but is needed to display help files...

    more background info on the message....
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Relocation
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Address_space_layout_randomization

    maybe the program ur using was outdated and did not take into account the feature mentioned above.
    oh, windows wise, a good thing :kkthumbs applications wise, sorry i think ur app is outdated.... :smile-big
     
    Last edited: Apr 4, 2007
  7. neji1988

    neji1988 Registered User

    中級員 / Chuukyuuin / Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Country:
    Singapore
    Re: Computer Problems

    My program is actually just windows XP and this program started happening Right after i updated the windows internet explorer to the newest version which is internet explorer 7... and it seems to happen everytime i update it..
     
  8. TechnoMagus

    TechnoMagus Registered User

    英雄メンバー / Eiyuu Menbaa / Hero Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,970
    Likes Received:
    27
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Re: Computer Problems

    maybe they integrated the relocation feature in ie7? (rhetoric) did you also run the other updates for xp? make the ie7 update the last, else....
    rollback to ie6 for now would be the best solution for the meantime... :(
     
  9. neji1988

    neji1988 Registered User

    中級員 / Chuukyuuin / Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Country:
    Singapore
    Re: Computer Problems

    Argh....Now everything is all wrong....my internet explorer dosent have any tool bars...and I cant dl anything i cant even right click on the page...and worst of all i tired removing the internet explorer and try downloading it again and they cant delete it cause they couldnt find the IE7 file...sooo now my internet explorer is completely useless and i have to use my recovery disc....or else i dun know wad else to do....sooo now i am burning all my important programs onto a disc and i am getting ready to use the recovery disc...and it all started because of the Facking Internet explorer update and the user32.dll........I HATE BILL GATES
     
  10. TechnoMagus

    TechnoMagus Registered User

    英雄メンバー / Eiyuu Menbaa / Hero Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    1,970
    Likes Received:
    27
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Re: Computer Problems

    well, there's opera, firefox and the old mozilla suite. if u can't dl, there's telnet and ftp... oops sorry, using them might be too complicated for you... :smile-big

    try the repair feature from the disc first before a reinstallation....
     
  11. shrimpy

    shrimpy Translator

    英雄メンバー / Eiyuu Menbaa / Hero Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,118
    Likes Received:
    1,457
    Country:
    United States
    Hard drive help

    Hello,

    I'm wondering if anyone can help.
    I recently had a hard drive fail. But this one was very strange. Usually when HD goes bad, you hear clicking or you get errors in the event log of the PC. But this one stopped working cold.
    Now, when I plugged it into an external USB drive case, I could hear it clicking...but it's strange to me a drive would start doing that and never give any warning.

    I was desperate so I actually opened the drive myself. It's a 40 gig seagate drive, and the only thing I could visibly notice is that the plastic lever next to the drive head that kind of unlocks when its on and goes back when it turns off seems loose. There's also a dark spot on the clear plates themselves, but that wouldn't be enough to stop bootup of the drive right?

    I've been searching for a cheap data recovery place everywhere but they're all too expensive or questionable whether or not I can trust them. I don't have a lot of money, but I really need to get the data back.

    Thanks to anyone who has ideas. I really appreciate it.
     
  12. m0rph3us

    m0rph3us Registered User

    初心者/ Shoshinsha / Beginner

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    5
    Country:
    Germany
    Re: Hard drive help

    hmm I'm really sorry.
    I know a guy who lost his diploma thesis due to a hard drive fail and he paid about 10.000 € just to get it back.
    I really hope you can get your data easier.
     
  13. fgn89

    fgn89 Guest

    Re: Hard drive help

    Hi, I think I might have something that *may* help your problem.

    If you have msn, just add me as a contact and I'll tell you what I know, might not be too appropriate to tell here :P

    P.S. signing up is a b*tch x.x I saw this post and tried to be a good guy and help, took me a good 15 minutes, only to find out I already have an a/c on this website, you need to be more specific in the error messages :P That or I'm a right dunce.

    Just add me ^^ fgn89@hotmail.com
     
  14. shrimpy

    shrimpy Translator

    英雄メンバー / Eiyuu Menbaa / Hero Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    1,118
    Likes Received:
    1,457
    Country:
    United States
    Re: Hard drive help

    Okay ill give it a shot
     
  15. Serpent

    Serpent Registered User

    中級員 / Chuukyuuin / Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    10
    Country:
    Romania
    I need some help with this

    Ok so here's the deal, I have a photo of something and somewhere in the background is a car i need a program to allow me to enlarge and make the license number of that car understandable , i saw this thing being done in some movies ^^ and i was hoping someone could tell what program to use.

    sorry if a didn't post it wright :(
     
  16. LadyHatake

    LadyHatake Aristocratic Assassin

    MH中毒 / MH Chuudoku / MH Addicted

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    359
    Country:
    United States
    Re: I need some help with this

    hm, I can't think of any program that would give you the greater clarity you'd be looking for. That kind of thing is probably more for government, etc, not public use, unfortunately. Any kind of high powered program like that won't be easy to find.

    enlarging isn't hard, just open the photo up in photoshop or similar program and increase the image size. The problem will be making the license number understandable ^^; It' be more helpful if I had an idea of what kind of picture it is and just how small the license plate is.
     
  17. Serpent

    Serpent Registered User

    中級員 / Chuukyuuin / Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    202
    Likes Received:
    10
    Country:
    Romania
    Re: I need some help with this

    My dad is a lawyer and he needs this 4 a case>.> , I can't really say how small the license is , so it can be done with a photo editing program , i heard something about pixel sharpening from a friend of mine . I'll ask him for the photo who knows maybe I'll be able to do this somehow. Thanks anyway
     
  18. the_hellbringer

    the_hellbringer Registered User

    上級員 / Jyoukuuin / Sr. Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    10
    Country:
    Peru
    Re: I need some help with this

    A lot of the state of the art photo editing programs need a very powerfull computer...
    As LadyHatake said... some of those programs that you see in the movies are for goverments or for police use... also they are very expensive. Sme of those programs also are fake... used only for the tv show or the movie. Hollywood is never a good reference for reality.

    Try using photoshop... maybe you can ask somebody here in MangaHelpers in the Scanlator Central
     
  19. Paz42

    Paz42 Registered User

    中級員 / Chuukyuuin / Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Re: I need some help with this

    sorry to say that as far as im aware its impossible to do this kind of thing out side of movies. Its all to do with the pixal ratio of the image, when its on the computer theres only a certain amount of times you can zoom in and even when you zoom in you can make the image any clearer to the point where you can make things out in more detail
     
  20. lbum

    lbum Registered User

    中級員 / Chuukyuuin / Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    6
    Country:
    United Nations
    I need to know if anyone is a programmer

    Is any body a programmer i have a favor to ask.
     
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2007
Loading...