The Reiu Thread | MangaHelpers

• Join in and nominate your favorite shows of the summer season 2023!

The Reiu Thread

Reiu

Translator
中級員 / Chuukyuuin / Member
Reaction score
Country
United States
I thought I'd finally get around to posting something here.

I'm currently translating Alto, Shokoku no Altair, Kaibutsu no Oujo (Princess Resurrection), Suzuka, and Peace Maker. There are a couple of other series that I'm considering starting translating once Suzuka ends next week.

I'm 28, and am attending grad school in Japan with the goal of entering a Ph.D. program come February. I have a MA in Japanese Studies from an American university. I also lived in Japan for 3 years as an ALT in the JET Program.

I started studying Japanese when I was a sophomore in college, so I guess that means I've been studying it for about 8 years, though only about 3 years of that was in formal study. I passed lvl. 2 of the JLPT in 2003, and lvl. 1 in 2004.

I started scanning partly because I missed it when I moved back to Japan earlier this year. I was involved with an American comics scanning group (DCP) for about 2 years. I started translating just recently as a way of keeping my Japanese up (I've really been slacking off for the last couple of months) and as a way of helping to introduce some series that get overlooked. The foreign manga scene is very Jump-centric, and that's something I'm hoping to help change.

Last edited:

Nami

Queen of The Damned
MH中毒 / MH Chuudoku / MH Addicted
Reaction score
Country
United Nations
Actually you are right! A lot of times, people tend to focus more on Shonen Jump but thanks to you, members have begun noticing series like Princess Resuurection and Altair. And I thought you are a native Japanese, since you seem to translate at ease ^^

First round of questions:
- What's your favourite Shonen series?
- What seinen series do you read?
- Ever read Shoujo before?
- What's your favourite Japanese food? :amuse

Reiu

Translator
Reaction score
Country